Off the back

Distance: 25.75 (4 runs)

Miles to go: 1784

“Off the back” is an unfortunate description of what happens to me most of the time when I try to hang with the faster runners.  It is also a good description of my struggles keeping up with this blog!  I am still running, but due to house remodels, sick family and other life issues (sleep, food, etc.) I’m struggling to find time to keep from getting “dropped”…

Last week I ran twice with the group and once on my own and then took some time off to get my kitchen remodel caught up.  I got quite a bit done on it but ended up being too tired to run on the days I was working so I kinda had a long layoff (from Thursday morning to this morning), but surprisingly I ran pretty strong this morning on a hilly route, so I’m happy.  I’m afraid my routine will be a bit fractured over the next several weeks until I get the bulk of the kitchen stuff done, so be patient with my struggles.

After my Thursday run last week I felt so sore that I almost thought I had re-injured myself.  I don’t know if it was just the increase in mileage last week or that each run was longer, but something wasn’t happy and I paid for it for a couple of days.  Maybe that break was a good thing because this morning I ran pain free and really felt good.  I keep thinking that I need to run a race or two to get me back in the spirit, but I’m still a little nervous about it.  I think it’s mostly because I’m afraid that I’ve lost a lot of speed and won’t do very well… Kinda lame… I know…  There is, however, a freebie 4 miler coming up on July 4th that is fun and well attended so I might run that one just to see where I’m at.  I ran almost exactly 8 minute miles last year (32:07) and I think if I work at it for the next couple of months I can beat that time.  The 8:30s I ran this morning felt comfortable on the hills and this upcoming race is on a very flat, out and back course.

Now that (hopefully) the weather is starting to settle down a bit it will be nice to get back into a routine, at least Tue-Thur.  I think I have missed that and it feels good to be running with the crowd again.  Now I just need to keep up…

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

