Playing catch up

Oops… just realized this post never made it out of draft.  Gotta go back and revise some numbers too!

Distance: 6.5 mi (today), 3 mi yesterday at Traknight

4.5 mi and 3.5 mi in two runs in Oklahoma

Miles to go: 1849

To begin with, thanks for the kind words. I’m not saying I’m not sad to see him go. I loved him very much. I just know how much pain he was in for such a long time and I think watching that hurt me more than losing him…

Now, on with the runs… (wait… that didn’t sound good… hmm…)

Being in Oklahoma gave me a chance to run at one of my old favorite places which I highly recommend if you are ever in the Oklahoma City area. It is in a city called Edmond and is a park called Hafer. It’s very pretty for an urban park and has a paved 1.25 mile trail that winds through hills and playgrounds. I nice little gem if you are ever around that area. I ran it twice and, although feeling stiff and sore from the 8 hour drive, managed to get in a total of 8 miles. It was good to get out and relax a bit under such stressful circumstances.

We got back on Tuesday night and I was exhausted so I didn’t run even though I had time. Then yesterday I went to Traknight, expecting to feel miserable. Surprisingly despite being a little stiff and sore, I ran comfortably, if a bit slow. I can tell, however, that I am getting back in shape because I felt fine afterwards. We did out and back pace work (run 5K pace out 3 minutes, then turn around and try to come back at the exact same pace, then 2 out and 2 back, then 1… etc.). I was WAY off (slow) on the first one but managed to be within a second on the last two so I am getting the “feel” for running at pace again.

This morning was a pace run on the trail. It was PERFECT weather for running. About 60 degrees and a light breeze. I took off easy but felt strong… surprisingly strong for having just run 12 hours before… I decided to run to the 5.5 mile turnaround and see how I felt. When I got there I had enough gas left to add another mile so I ended up running 6.5 miles. I got a little tired toward the end but was happy with the result. I averaged about a 9:07 mile and the pace felt easy. Now I get to take the rest of today and all of tomorrow off before attempting 8-10 on Saturday. It’s fun to see the mileages creeping up again!!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

