Man! I’m glad THAT’S over…

Distance: 16 mi (4 runs)

Miles to go: 1978

First… I caught a cold…  then… I coughed a lot…  then it rained…  then I presented two days straight at a conference…  then I got the hairbrained idea that I should build a raised garden bed or two using dry stacked stone that I “harvested” from my yard (read: toss really freakin heavy rocks into the back of my truck… drive to plot… dump and then stack rocks… then repeat)…  then I woke up this morning and realized that I really could scream like a 5 year old girl if I lifted my arms over tried to lift my arms over my head…

So…?  How was YOUR weekend…?

I only managed a few runs between the raindrops and the drippy nose but I still managed to get 16 miles in.  One of which, my last one, finally broke the 6 mile mark again for the first time since Thanksgiving.  ‘Bout frickin’ time!  Anyway, I’m encouraged for several reasons.  First, I felt good (ok… the last mile sucked… but doesn’t it always?).  Second, my injury didn’t hurt.  And finally, my conference “season” is over for the year so I can get back to my regularly scheduled programming.

I’ve pretty much decided to just run for a while.  In other words, no goals, no races, no times… just run.  I figure I’m just now to the point where I “can” again so I’m really not in to spoiling it by pushing myself too hard right now.  I may try to squeeze a late spring 5K in just for kicks but I’m really looking at the fall for more races.  There are some really fun ones and I should be good to go by then.

I guess if I have a running “goal” (besides as much mileage as I can get in) it would be to PR in our local half marathon.  I got a PR in it last year of 1:54.40 but I got really bad blisters on both feet due to wet socks at about mile 7.  I would really like to get below 1:50 and think I can if I plan it right and take my time.  If I run 8 minute miles I would come in just under 1:45, which would be awesome… Something to shoot for!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

