The penguins were right

Distance: 5 mi

Miles to go: 1908

This is actually a report of Friday’s 5 miler but I’ve been too busy to post.

There is a scene in the animated movie “Madagascar” where the penguins have finally reached their destination after stealing the ship.  They all stand with their backs to the camera in a very cold, windblown, desolate wasteland.  After a pregnant pause one of them says “Well… This sucks…”

I can’t think of anything more appropriate to describe this run.  I finally get what I want, a nice day, time to put in the miles, minimal soreness from the broken pelvis.  And then I take off on the run… My left leg feels like it wants to collapse almost from the start and it just gets worse the further I run.  My lungs can’t keep up because (as I discovered later) I am fighting a bug.  My right calf is cramping the entire way…  I feel nauseated… 

So here I am… I finally get exactly what I want… and it sucks.

I fought the urge to stop and walk for most of the last 2 miles.  I slowed from an 8:45 pace to a 10:30 pace.  I felt dizzy… 

…WTF!!!

So I took Saturday (everybody was sick) and Sunday (almost everybody was sick, it was Easter and it was my wife’s birthday) off.  Today I feel ok though still have a headach, but I will not be denied.  I will run at least 3 miles today.  More if I can…

I know these are just minor setbacks in the grand scheme of things but… GAH!!  When you are “in it” it really can be frustrating  …damn…

…the penguins were right…

3 Responses to The penguins were right

  1. alphameg says:

    Happy birthday to your wife from another Easter baby!

  2. Hang in there buddy. There’ll be bigger and better races.

  3. allenkenya says:

    In running, there are a whole lot of normal days with a smattering of really good and really bad days. Sounds like you got smattered with one of the bad ones. Keep on.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

