It sure FELT slow…

Distance: 4 mi

Miles to go: 1931

I took off on an old familiar trail today and from the first step I felt awful.  And the rest of them weren’t much better.  Not from a “I’m in pain” standpoint, just simply I’m out of shape and running is difficult right now.  Anyway, it certainly wasn’t going to stop me.  Within 20 steps I had resolved to enjoy the beautiful day and the fact that I was running again.  The trails are finally firming up again and there were only a couple of soft spots so the run through the trees and bridges was pleasant.

As I approached the first mile mark I played a little game of “what’s my time”.  My guess?  10: 15…  My time?  8:54.  Not flying, by any standard, but much faster Than I had expected given the way I felt!  Still I decided to ease up a bit for mile two and cruised through it at 9:07.  This route is an out and back with the turn at 2 miles so I decided to try to match my time coming back.  My third mile was 9:08 and about half way through it I started to feel much better so I decided to pick it up for the last mile and see if I could beat 37:00.  I ran my last mile in 8:39 to finish at 35:48.

Since I don’t have a “goal” other than running the distance, these games serve more to keep my mind occupied so I won’t obsess over every little twinge.  I don’t really care how fast I run but it IS a measure of my fitness, which is important to me.  It’s not the 7:15s I ran in my last 5K, but I’m not as far from it as I thought I was.  I do think, though, that I can get back down to that point (and maybe a little beyond) by the end of the summer if I work at it.  I may secretly set another goal of running a sub 22 5K by Thanksgiving… but don’t tell anybody…

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

