I think it’s time…

Distance: 3mi today, 12 mi for the week

Miles to go: 1940

…to get back to our regularly scheduled programs.  Yes… I think I’m finally healed up and ready to start my recovery.  I have been pushing myself here and there a bit just to see how I feel and (other than fat and out of shape) I think I’m finally OK.  I get a rare twinge here and there but I think that is just going to be there for a while and if I have Advil as an after run treat, I’m good.

I had a fundamental change in thinking on my run tonight that sealed it.  For the first time in 4 months I found myself thinking about “running” during my run.

Sound stupid?

Not when I realized that all I had been thinking about before was every little twinge or pain and feeling sorry for myself because I couldn’t run.  I was paying attention only to the injury, not the run.

But tonight…?

Used to be when I ran, I would use it as planning time for my next race or to obsess over my goals (in a good way).  Usually, the last mile of my run would have me daydreaming about coming to the finish line as a way to motivate me to push it a bit (usually with some ridiculously low time in peril if I didn’t sprint… heh…).  But what should I find myself thinking about tonight?  What will my first race be this spring…?  When can I start running traknight again?  When will I be back up to half marathon distance?  Could it be possible for me to run a marathon again?  All of this led to me crossing the finish line of my run dreaming of crossing the finish line at the Boston…  which I won… by the way…

…yep… it’s time…

One Response to I think it’s time…

  1. Amy says:

    That’s wonderful Bob! Glad you are back out there!

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

