Real light at the end of the tunnel

Distance: 4 mi

Miles to go: 1952

Yesterday was my first run over 3 miles since Mid November…  I think I’m finally starting to heal.  I was tired at the end of it (it felt like my 15 milers used to…) but had only the slightest twinge of pain related to the injury.  What’s more important, I feel fine this morning.  I think I may even drag the family out to the park this afternoon so I can get a few more miles in.  It’s hard not to get a tad emotional about this.  I’ve wished for the day when I could truly say I was OK after a run for several months now.  I have no desire to run fast or long…  I’ve just really missed running.  I think now I can truly say it’s coming back and not feel like I am being overly optimistic.

Some interesting things occurred to me on this run.  I didn’t time myself.  I just relaxed and cruised.  I realized that I really liked this feeling.  Running without pressure of time or distance…  I also stopped trying to pick my line through the sometimes mushy trail.  I wasn’t going fast enough to do damage to myself or the trail so I just plodded through the soft stuff (in my new shoes…).  I realized that I pay WAY too much attention to the little stuff.  I realized that the sound of the creek and that piercing call that can only come from a Cardinal are a lot more fun to pay attention to.  I realized that, though I can daydream and ponder during a run, it is very difficult for me to “think” along a logical path (i.e. the steps needed to complete a task) and by the time I’m done with the run, I have forgotten most of it.

Finally, I realized that I really missed all this…  Even through a week last week that taxed me mentally, emotionally and physically… I feel great today.  Inside and out.  It’s been a while since I could say that…!

One Response to Real light at the end of the tunnel

  1. Nat says:

    I got teared eyed reading that… I love that feeling from running. Those moments when you are notice life around you. Inspirational.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

