When I grow up…

Distance: (3 runs) 8 mi

Time: insignificant

Miles to go: 1965

Had to do an emergency switch with another trainer when she got hurt so I have been out since Thursday morning.  Trying to do a bit of catch up here.

After my initial 3 miler I was disappointedly sore.  I thought about it for a while and was pondering my doctor’s words (he is a team doc for MIZZOU, Columbia College and many of the pro and amateur athletes here in Columbia).  He imparted some tough love on me and more than a few admonishments for my efforts to try to come back too soon.  Here are a few of his recommendations and pearls of wisdom that I thought I would share:

  • Just because you are an athlete and think you are in shape doesn’t mean that your bones heal any faster than the average joe.
  • Any bone takes a certain amount of time to heal… no matter who you are.  In my case, a stress fracture of the pelvis takes 3 to 5 months to heal.
  • Healing and recovery are two separate things.  Healing is the time for the injury fix itself.  Recovery STARTS AFTER the healing period has passed.  This can take an additional 6 months to a year.
  • Every week of fitness you lose will take you 3 to 4 TIMES that to recover.
  • 70% of the athletes he sees that return to him after HEALING are back because they pushed the RECOVERY too hard and re-aggravated the injury.
  • Allow 3 to 4 months recovery for each month you are off (in my case, that would be 9 to 12 months) to get you back to pre-injury fitness levels.
  • Once you start training again you should start with no more than HALF of your last full HEALTHY weekly total and then increase no more than 10% per week.
  • (on weight loss) Your body hits “set points” where it is happy and refuses to lose any more weight.  The easiest way to break a set point is to change up your workout.  Adding weightlifting and cross training, adding protein while taking away some carbs, adding a bit of fat (heaven forbid!!) and, believe it or not, taking a week off, can shake your metabolism back into action.
  • (his only encouraging words) We all age.  It gets harder to lose or maintain weight, maintain fitness, increase our speeds, etc.  Just know that you are doing the right thing by staying active.  Keep it up.

I’m sure we’ve all heard these things at one time or another from one source or another, but it’s not a bad idea to remind yourself of them from time to time.  What it all means for me…?  I’m not completely sure yet.  However, on my last 3 runs I have simply pushed my body to the limit of COMFORT ONLY.  Not 5 steps past like I usually do…  oddly enough, I feel much better.  I’m trying to be less of an athlete and more of a perpetual motion machine right now.  Time doesn’t matter.  Motion does.  It already feels better…

On a different note, I bolted out of the house today in advance of a nasty weather system to get some miles in.  I decided to go to a park that has a 1.25 mi track that is paved as the trails around here are still a bit soupy.  As I stepped out on the trail an older gentleman passed me.  He was wearing a camelbak and looked like a very experienced runner.  I caught up to him and found that I was running in the presence of greatness.  He was one of the original members of our local (and largest) running club.  He was training to run our local marathon (on labor day) with his adult daughter who herself has lost over 50 pounds so far in an effort to “keep up with her old pop” as he put it.  He’s 68…  What a cool story… and a great bit of inspiration… I wanna be that guy…

I also watched just enough of the Ironman coverage to burst into tears at the incredible will and determination of those athletes.  Dammit… if a 40 year old with no legs or a 70 year old who just beat cancer can complete an Ironman, I can beat this little setback I have suffered and meet my goal of 2000 miles for the year.

I discover new heros all the time, these are just the latest two…  When I grow up, I wanna be like those guys…

2 Responses to When I grow up…

  1. Nat says:

    Gah, that is some though love for sure. I shudder just reading that. Hang in there…

  2. The Laminator says:

    Hey Dude…

    Thanks for the reminder to come back slow. I’m going to bookmark your post so I remember it well once I’m fully recovered from my injury.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

