Back to our regularly scheduled programming…

Distance:  3 mi

Time: 29:24

Miles to go: 1973

Got the official okie-dokie from the doctor to start running again yesterday.  He had said that I could try it over the last couple of weeks as I felt I could, but it was nice to be “released”.  His only recommendation was to run every other day for a while, which I agree with.  I may do some light stationary bike work on the other days. 

The way I have it figured, I am going to end up about 400 miles in the hole for my 2000 mile goal for the year by the time I finally get back to a full running schedule, which will probably be the end of March.  While I would be sad to not make my goal, I would be even more sad if I could never run again, so, given the two options, there is always next year for 2000 miles if I don’t make it this year.  I should be able to make up a lot of it this summer though…  Right now I’m just focused on running pain free (I’m about 90% there now) and getting my fitness level back.  I’m still breathing kinda hard and I got side stitches last night so I have work to do…

Another up side, though, is that I am able to do a few full sit ups for the first time in 4 months.  Not the hundreds that I used to do, but at least I can get all the way off the floor now.  I need to find or make a leg raise/dip chair.  I think that would be a big help for my lower abs.

So now it’s time to get back to business…  Over the next month, the plan is to slowly increase my distances (no more than 10% a week) and start to look at getting back into the Tu/Thu morning runs again.  Traknight starts at the end of the month as well.  I don’t know if I will be able to make the first couple of them, but I want to get back to that ASAP as well.  I also have let my weight go a bit so it’s back to a strict(er) eating plan and ONE BEER A WEEK.  A sacrifice I am very happy to make in the name of fitness.

Then there is the matter of what events I want to run.  I am unencumbered by a “goal race”, so I can run pretty much whatever I want.  I would like, however, to run the St. Paddy’s Day 5K as a first race back (March 15) and the Jay Dix 5/10k (April 19).  After that…?  I hear the Hospital Hill Half Marathon in Kansas City is supposed to be tough but fun.  I’m really open at this point.  I just wanna run…

On another note that is bad/good news, I also now have to share running schedules…  My darling wife has started running in preparation for doing a 5K sometime this spring!!!!  W00T!!  I think we can work something out…

2 Responses to Back to our regularly scheduled programming…

  1. Amy says:

    Yeah Bob! You made it! You survived!

    Do you think your wife took up running because you couldn’t get out of the house? :}

    Seriously, that is really exciting. More runners in one house is a good thing.

  2. OS says:

    90% pain free sounds great! And the darling wife sounds like a terrific person to share a running schedule with. : )

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

