Two in the goo

Distance: 2 mi

Time: 19:28

Miles to go: 1976

I was so excited to run again that it took me a while to decide where to go!  There are so many great places to run here and I miss them all so it took me a while to decide.  I finally ended up going to an old favorite which, unfortunately, ended up being quite the swamp… *sigh*

No matter though.  I still ran!  I did have to cut the run short a mile because of the conditions.  The crushed limestone that makes up the trails around here is great unless it is really wet.  But if it is muddy it’s like running in snot.  I felt ok but was afraid I would slip in the muck and be back to square one again.  The total mileage was still 3 miles, I just walked the last one.

The one area that did hurt surprised me.  For the first time in over 2 years it was my lungs that were the main issue!  That will go away quickly, I know, it had just been a while since I wheezed like that…!  Kinda funny!!

This morning I only feel the slightest discomfort which I am remedying with coffee and Advil (breakfast of champions).  I am going to rest today so tomorrow should really tell the tale.  I also have a follow up appointment with the doc tomorrow.  Hopefully he will green light me, too…  Although I wonder if I shouldn’t ask him about physical therapy…?  I still can’t do a full sit up.  I get about half way and then just collapse.  There is NO strength in my lower abs.  Imagine trying to sit up in bed and you just CAN’T.  I haven’t felt that since just after my back surgery.  …ieeesh…. bad flashbacks…

Anyway, I’m still excited and very motivated.  I think if I stick to shorter distances (less than 5 miles) and slow(er) times for the next month or so, I should be fine.  I think I’m going to keep lifting, too.  I’m not “training” for anything that requires me to be skinny (like THAT would ever happen) and running is pretty much lower body only, so sticking with the weights and core work will help my overall fitness.   Remember Bob… it’s GETTING to 2000 miles that is the goal… not HOW FAST you get there… 

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

