The new addition

…that may just save my sanity…

Last Saturday, we went over to a friend’s house and picked up a relic straight out of the 70s.  A Schwinn xt100 so’meruther exercise bike.  It’s so old it doesn’t even give information on RPM, just speed and time.  It takes two watch batteries to operate the timer.

…it’s beautiful.

The seat looks like it came off grampa’s tractor.  The pedals are straight off that banana seat custom Schwinn Stingray with the metal flake paint job you had as a kid.  I wanna hang tassles off the handle bars and put a basket with flowers on it on the front.  If it had wheels I’d put baseball cards in them… but not the good ones.  And maybe even one of those little bells to warn people when I’m flying up behind them… on my stationary bike.

I pulled the tractor seat off of it and put my mountain bike seat on it, which looks ridiculous but is WAY more comfortable.  I tried to swap the pedals out with the clipless set from my mountain bike but, unfortunately, the holes are different sizes (he learned AFTER he spent an hour dismantling the entire lower end of his mountain bike trying to get the fu<%!n& pedals off… sigh… did I mention I’m the king of taking an oil change and turning it into an engine rebuild?).  Anyway… they didn’t fit.  The straps that hold your feet to the Stingray pedals are, I’m relatively certain, pieces of an old tractor tire.

So to make a short story long…  I started running again early last week, as documented.  I felt fantastic for the first couple of runs, then it all fell to $h!t and I was miserable for several days… again.  However, since the addition of the stationary bike, I have at least been able to happily drip sweat all over it for the last 4 days which has done WONDERS for my mood and future outlook.  I have even started to gather a group of songs together for my own personal spin class.  I haven’t done spin in many years and forgot how much I liked it.  I’m afraid that my choice of music would never work for the average class though…  Bands like Drowning Pool, Avenged Sevenfold, Disturbed and Breaking Benjamin tend to offend the sensitive…  Did I mention I’m the oldest headbanger on the planet?

I am satisfied enough with my progress that I have even decided to give myself some mileage off of my 2000 for the effort… so:

Distance: 15 mi (1 1/2 hours on the bike)

Miles to go: 1972.7

Oh… and I’m feeling less pain, too…!

One Response to The new addition

  1. Amy says:

    Must have pictures! Make sure you put on some 70’s clothes and pose for the camera.

    Enjoy the bike – glad the pain is better.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

