An admission of weakness

Distance: 3 mi

Time: 26:00

Miles to go: 1991

Ok… I admit it… I’m weak.  Not mentally, that weakness is a long established fact.  Put a beer in front of me and watch what happens.  And you might want to stand back.

The weakness I am referring to is physical.

See, I had to run on the treadmill last night because of some really odd severe weather (a tornado warning… IN JANUARY???  WTF!!) that had it pouring BUCKETS most of the day.  I picked a program that started me out on a hill and gradually tapered the hill as the speed increased.  I was supposed to peak at about an 8:30 pace.  The program is set for 40 minutes.  But about 20 minutes into it… I felt… weak.  Not seriously, clinically weak like I was having a heart attack or anything.  This weakness was obviously due to inactivity over the last 2 months.

Maybe weakness is a bad word.  How about “lack of endurance”.  I just ran out of gas at about 3 miles.  This was hard for me.  Three miles used to be a warm up for whatever run I was actually going to do that day.  So to be breathing hard, jelly legged and straining after 3 miles was an experience I have not had in a long time.

I’m not mad or upset.  Heck, I ran three miles!  I guess I was more surprised than anything.  I knew I would lose some of my fitness level.  I guess I just didn’t know how much.  Anyway, I got off the treadmill and recovered a bit, then went in and lifted weights.  I am able to do about 3 sets of 25 sit ups now and I can do single leg lifts, so it’s gradually improving.

If I can find a dry spot (wish me luck… we got over 3 inches of rain yesterday) I am going to try to put in another 3 or 4 today.  The temperatures are supposed to start falling gradually today and be back down into the 30s by the end of the week so it will be back to a more “normal” January existence.  This should be disappointing to all the frogs that started coming out last night…!

One Response to An admission of weakness

  1. Bob says:

    No worries!!! Taking time off has it’s ups and downs. You experienced the downside. The good thing is that you will bounce back quickly and your body will reward you for the time off.

    Bob

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

