Run… Interrupted…

Distance: 1.5 mi.

Time: No clue

Miles to go: 1996.25

Stupid mud…  That’s what the boy kept saying.  And he cursed it every time he had to ride through a puddle.  It slowed him down, he said.  It made it hard to pedal.  No amount of coaching or encouragement would help.  “Pedal faster up to the mud and then just pedal right through”… didn’t work.  “I can’t see the mud sometimes”, said he.  “Ride closer to the shoulder where less traffic has been and it’s a little bit higher”, says I.  That didn’t work either…  and so it went.

That was our “father and son” time.  The net result was that I now run too fast for him to keep up with (according to him) and his bicycle (a mountain bike) doesn’t “do well” in the mud…  Somewhere Gary Fisher just rolled over in his grave… if he’s dead…

One last mud puddle did him in and, as I was chatting with a familiar runner on the trail, the boy faded, stopped and broke down in tears…  *sigh*  I’ve spawned a wimp…  Anyway, I made him get off and walk and I pushed his bike the remaining mile and a quarter back to the car.  By the end of it his spirits were back up, due to some silliness (did I mention that 10 year old boys find flatulence EXTREMELY funny?  …at least, this one does…  Good thing for me I had back to back meals of beans and chili).  Sometimes ya gotta pick yer battles…  I could have yelled and been mad, but he was genuinely upset.  Why make it worse.  It just increases the chance that he WON’T go next time.  Not good.

I’m sure someday he will come in, fresh off a mountain bike ride, covered in mud, with a wild eyed grin and say something profound like “That was COOL… and I only bled TWICE!!!”  But until then…  *sigh*

One Response to Run… Interrupted…

  1. OS says:

    I’ll have to remember this when I tell my son the good news that I’m taking him to the track with me more, one of my resolutions. Of course I’ll never be able to tell anybody about it later . . . lol So glad you’re “back”!

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

