1999.75 to go

Distance: .25 mi running, 1 mi walking

Time:  Who cares!  I’m moving again!!

After bouncing around on the bottom of a deep, black depression induced by this stupid injury, I decided to volunteer at a local race on New Year’s Eve.  It was an afternoon race called First Night 5K, put on by one of our local running clubs.  I thought there would be about 50 people at the race but, as always, I was pleasantly surprised by the 300 that turned out to get a head start on the guilt resolution for what they were going to do to themselves that night.

What I saw:

300 happy people enjoying a run in 28 degree weather with a 15 mph headwind, smiling (pretty much) the whole way.

A 12 year old prodigy (girl) who ran an 18:55 5K.  She looked like she was floating.

A 21 year old MU senior won the race in a time of 15:03…   damn…

Many of my new friends from the running community, shouting “hurry back” comments to me as they ran by… Thanks guys…

A happy crew of volunteers lead by the pace bicycle, a tandem ridden by a crew from the local bike shop, one of whom was wearing a Teletubby costume (I think it was Po)… I have no idea why…  but it was REALLY funny.

It definitely renewed my love of the running community and was my final motivation to get back going again.  I have been good…  I basically sat on my ever expanding ass for the last month and a half, just like the doctor said to.  If I haven’t healed by now, I’m probably not going to.  So it’s time to eat the pain and get after it.  Those 2000 miles aren’t going to run themselves…!  I’m already 6 miles behind…

So how does it feel?  Like I haven’t run in a month and a half…  Yes, there is some pain associated with the injury, but it’s actually only about equal to the pain I am feeling in my shoulders from adding 3 sets of shoulder shrugs to my weightlifting routine.  Stiff, sore… but doable.   I would even go out tomorrow morning and run/walk with the club except for the fact that it is going to get down to 6 tonight and I’m stiff and sore enough as it is without adding frostbite to the mix.  So it’s the treadmill for now and perhaps a run this weekend OUTSIDE (W00T!!!)  since it is supposed to get up to 60 (from 6… to 60… in 3 days…  Global warming?).

I’m not going to say I’m “back” yet, and I’m probably going to get my ever expanding ass chewed by the doctor when I see him next Wednesday, but it’s at least good to be THINKING about it… right?

Oh… yeah… New Year’s Resolutions:

  1. Run 2000 miles
  2. Lose 30 pounds (that will put me at 165)
  3. The floor is not storage or a trash can.  Pick up things on the floor (clothes, crayons, leaves, small children, other misc. junk) instead of stepping over them and PUT THEM AWAY
One Response to 1999.75 to go

  1. […] is inspired and motivated by Bob at https://dabigleap.wordpress.com/2008/01/02/199975-to-go/ And deservedly so, he’s absolutely inspiring.  I also read his entries with a bit of jealousy, […]

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

