Running (ok… maybe walking gingerly) away from an IRB

Just when I think I’m healing and feeling better, I slip ever so slightly on the ice on the deck and some invisible rat bastard (IRB) kicks me in the groin again.  This is getting old…  fast…

I can, at least, do a few sit ups now.  No more than about 50 or so, but still, that’s progress.  The weightlifting is helping my mood, if nothing else and I have started to walk (slowly) on the treadmill.  It’s kinda weird but I have a very clear limit to how fast I can go.  I am fine up to that point, but if I push it, even a tiny bit, IRB shows up and kicks me again.  I would really like to give myself a Christmas present of a run… even if it is on the treadmill and even if it is only a mile… as long as IRB doesn’t come…

As I look out the window, though, I wonder if I would actually be running outside now (who am I kidding… of course I would…) anyway.  We got about 7 inches of snow that is now cleverly concealing about an inch and a half of leftover solid ice.  I just can’t imagine me running on that, even on a good day.  Sure would be nice to have that option, though…

I have spent much of my “recovery” time (when I’m not feeling miserably sorry for myself) thinking about where to go next with my running.  Obviously, I’m going to have to come back slow and not run too many miles, so I am looking at the St. Paddy’s day 5K as my first “race” back.  It’s on March 15th.  I had grand plans of this race being my first shot at a sub 22 5k, but now I’m not sure.  Maybe I should just be happy running again… I have also marked on my calendar the date that the Traknight practices start up again… February 27th.  But past these two dates, I’m just not sure.  I might start sniffing around and see if I can find a bike to borrow for a couple of upcoming duathlons.  Maybe this can be my introductory year for multisport events…?  I think I just need a goal.  Something to look forward to.

One Response to Running (ok… maybe walking gingerly) away from an IRB

  1. Amy says:

    Still hoping for a Christmas miracle that you will have a chance to walk, trot or run over the holidays. But in the event that doesn’t work, I hope you find time for some leisurely walks on clear, dry pavement and time with your family.

    Happy Holidays!

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

