Worried… already…

In an effort to keep from flying into a deep, black, injury induced depression (my pants fit tighter already and there is NOTHING I can do about it…) complete with feelings of hopelessness and giving up… I started lifting weights again. I can’t really even stretch my lower body that much because it puts too much strain on my pelvis and any core work is completely out of the question (yes… I tried… YES… it hurt…). I’ve got to do SOMEthing. You can’t just run nearly every day for over a year and a half and then just… stop… It’s impossible. But any overuse or strain gives me the feeling of (forgive the graphic description) being kicked in the groin… hard. Complete with nausea (but without the glory of the “No $h!t… There I was…” story…).

As a distraction I have been pursuing a couple of leads on exercise bikes. One is of questionable origin or quality but the price is right (free) and the other is actually a good quality spin bike that is in great shape that a local college is auctioning off. If I could pick it up for $100 or less it would be a steal! Even $200 for this bike ($850 new) would be a good deal. I used to love to do Spin classes and it was a GREAT workout. Hopefully something will pan out. It would be nice to have SOME way to do aerobic activity…

I now run in fear whenever someone brings goodies in to work. My superman willpower is definitely being weakened by all the kryptonite laced yummies floating around work. And being frustrated and depressed by it all certainly isn’t helping. Especially since one of my worst bad habits is eating for comfort when I’m down.

I’m worried…

2 Responses to Worried… already…

  1. Amy says:

    Bob,

    Hope the bike trainer purchase turned out well for you! If it didn’t, have you thought about buying a trainer to fit on your current bike. I picked one up for $75 a few years back and it was a life saver.

    I am like you – when running is good, diet is good. But when one is off – both are off.

    Keeping good thoughts for a speedy recovery and sanity along the way.

  2. grinnbearit says:

    I can’t stand taking time off because of an injury. If I choose to – that’s one thing, but forced breaks are torture!! What helps me is to imagine that time period as an exercise of my discipline and self-will in the area of dieting. It doesn’t usually produce miraculous results, but it does ease the focus on not being able to exercise like normal.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

