If it hurts…

Don’t do it…  This is the mantra I have been told to live by for the next 2 months…

It’s fun to read all the blogs about the first timers getting ready to run their marathons and half marathons out west.  I hope that I never lose that excitement about running and races.  The positive energy surrounding a race is very addictive to me.  One of the ways that I am going to keep from going completely insane while I recover is to volunteer at some of the local races.  Watching other people do their thing and get excited about it all is catching and I think it will keep me motivated.

In a brief update, walking and going up stairs doesn’t hurt anymore unless I push it.  I haven’t even tried to run and I won’t for 4-6 weeks.  Squatting, lunging, stretching, lifting my legs, doing situps or crunches and anything that over stresses my groin area still causes pain, so like the doctor says “If it hurts, don’t do it”.  I got to see the MRI yesterday when I went to the doctor for my ears.  You can clearly see the fracture just to the left of the pubic symphysis (the area where the two halves of the pelvis join at the bottom).  *sigh*

I started (slowly) lifting weights again so that I could do SOMETHING while I am out.  Light weights and high repititions (10-20) just to tone and strengthen a bit without bulking up too much.  I can’t do situps or leg lifts or anything else core related yet as it still hurts too much, so I will have to save that for later.  But I can still work my upper body and VERY lightly on my legs (quads and hammies).  No squats, lunges or the like.

We also have a friend who has a stationary bike she might want to get rid of, and the doctor has already said this is ok to do, so if it is decent, we may get it.  I really don’t want to lose ALL of my aerobic base.  I’m not allowed to do anything more than “light” riding for a while and since I have no concept of what that is (go hard or go home), I’m going to just ride an exercise bike for a while.

I was kind of sad… in a self centered way, that I didn’t get the chance to go out and get some real winter running gear.  Thicker shirts, better tights and a balaclava were all on my list.  Since I won’t really be running outside again until late January or early February, I guess now I can hit the sale racks!  I love buying running stuff.  I love buying it on sale EVEN MORE!!  Yes… I’m a guy…  that likes to shop…

One Response to If it hurts…

  1. grinnbearit says:

    Now I really want to go buy some more winter running gear…

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

