How it feels to be me…

Distance: 6.2 mi

Time: 51:38

Yup… Still hurts…  But the chance to run one last time in shorts (it was 52 when we started at 5:30am!) before winter hits (40 and snow tomorrow…) was too good to pass up.  That and I’m atoning for some pre-guilt for eating as much yummy,  turkey day goodness (and drinking…) as I know I will. 

I ran 2.5 miles yesterday and felt rotten.  It just feels like I have NO leg drive or lift at all.  I feel weak and crampy all over my abdomen, groin, hammys, even my glutes. I have no idea what this is but I really wish it would go the hell away.  I’m glad I felt at least marginally better this morning or I’m sure I would have flung myself into full depression.  This sucks.

The other reason I ran today was that this is my favorite route.  Starts out flat on the trail, then turns onto the road and climbs for about 2 1/2 miles, then gives you a reward for all the hard work with a big downhill final mile that is so steep you feel like you should have your hands in the air squealing like a 6 year old on Space Mountain (the ride, not the movie…).  The only time I felt really bad was going up the big hill.  The rest of it was tolerable.

To describe what this feels like from a runner’s perspective, imagine going out and running really hard one day, then going home and doing 1000 sit ups.  Oh… and don’t drink anything all day.  Then coming back out and trying to run hard the next day.  You know that weak feeling you get?  Where your mind says “go” but your body says “F- YOU”?  The motion is there, but there is just no power behind it.  If I push too hard it feels like somebody kicks me in the groin.

…gah!

2 Responses to How it feels to be me…

  1. Cat says:

    Even though you’ve described feeling horrible, the fact that you’re out there doing it, is giving me ideas about trying, too. You rock.

  2. Amy says:

    Bob,

    From the passenger’s view (forgive me because I hate backseat drivers), your posts are screaming that you need some rest. Tired, achy, unconsistent runs….equals rest, rest, rest. Take a few days or a week and do little to no running and then see. My husband follows a program where he takes 1 week off for every 6 weeks and then changes programs every 6 weeks – it seems to keep him fresh and he is never injured. I hate to admit he is right about something – but from here – it seems like a sensible approach. Best turkey wishes for you and your family!

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

