Houston… We have a problem…

Distance: 5.5 mi

Time: 47:43

What a totally uninspired run… *sigh*  I ran alone because nobody wanted to do the route the club laid out.  When they said “go”, it was like watching a herd of cats scatter.  People went everywhere.  I was tired from last night’s workout so I just shrugged and took off on the planned route because it was flat.

And… unfortunately… I think I have a problem.  Over the past 5 months I have had this nagging pain in my groin, sometimes during, but always after my runs.  It used to come and go but for the last 2 weeks it has been pretty constant.  No amount of stretching seems to help and it is getting worse.  After some research on the internet, my symptoms are consistent with a sports hernia.  I am at a point now where I can’t cough or sneeze without sitting down or holding on to something.  It also feels like I am starting to have some weakness in my groin and upper quads when I run.  I made an appointment today to get checked and until then I am going to take a break from running.

It was my hope that I could just “play through” it.  That maybe this was just my body taking a while to get certain muscle groups in shape.  Then, the closer I got to the marathon, the less I wanted to admit it existed because I was afraid it would take me out for the marathon.  It hurt during the marathon, but not as much as the dehydration cramping did, so I just ignored it.

If it IS a hernia, depending on how bad it is, I will be out from 1 to 4 months.  Treatment ranges from chemistry and physical therapy to surgery.  Either way there will be no running, weightlifting, cycling, etc…  As depressing as this is, I have to prepare for it and start to set some contingency goals around it.  Instead of focusing on what I CAN’T do, I need to make sure I am doing everything I CAN do to get better.  I’m sure losing weight is at the top of that list.  Maybe this is just the push I need…!

At this point, though, this is all conjecture.  I’m not a doctor, so it could be a pulled muscle, it could be cancer.  I have no idea.  I will find out Tuesday.

4 Responses to Houston… We have a problem…

  1. Amy says:

    So sorry to hear this Bob – take it easy. Injuries suck!

  2. Pokey says:

    The doctor will tell you for sure. If it IS something that will lay you up for a while, it will be a good time to plan strategies, read LOTS and LOTS about running and take up macrame. On the other hand, it may just require a different type of exercise or physical therapy, and you may be good to go sooner than you think. At any rate, since you have already achieved a certain fitness level, you will likely come back to it sooner than you realize. Best wishes to you. (I really enjoy your blog!)

  3. grinnbearit says:

    Better to take care of it now than it turn into anything more serious. Wait, who am I kidding, I never take that kind of advice myself! But seriously, you should confront the issue and not let it keep aggravating your workouts.

  4. tom says:

    Hi Bob, just checking in with you to see if you know any more about your injury, if it’s improving. If a hernia, you might be able to run more than you think.

    I’ve had four hernia’s repaired–weak abdominal walls and bad genes– and have the best surgeon in the world. He had me running within a few days after surgery and back to full fitness within a week. He’s the Stradivarius of surgeons. Let us know how you’re doing and take care of yourself.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

