Small Breakthrough

Distance: 6.6 mi

Time: 52:19

Well I did it!  After all of the other goals I have set you would think that I don’t need another one but once I realized that I would probably make it through the marathon I began to think of life post marathon.  One of the goals I had set was to run five miles at a pace under 8 minutes.  I know that doesn’t sound like much to some, but the 8 minute barrier is a big deal for me and I really want to get below it.  So today I ran 6.6 miles in a 7:55 average mile.  Not much below, but below!!!  This is all in preparation for a larger goal of breaking 45 minutes for the 10K sometime next spring.  I’m getting there… slowly.

I have definitely hit a hole in the runners group I am with though.  I can’t quite catch the 7:30-7:45 group yet (but I can see them for a lot longer now!) and the 8:00 to 8:30 group is mostly running 8:30s, so I start out in a crowd but finish alone.  I’m not complaining, I just think it’s interesting.  I could probably run with the 7:30 group for a few miles but they usually always go for the longest route, and I could never keep up that long right now so I’d just get dropped anyway.  I could slow down and run with the 8:30 group but I don’t know if I would get a good enough workout.  So, for now, I run alone until I either speed up enough to hang with the fast guys or somebody from the slow group speeds up.  I’m hoping it will be the former!!

One Response to Small Breakthrough

  1. Excellent breakthrough. Here’s my tip, get with that faster group an start getting used to that pace for as long as possible. When youre tired, back off and run with the slower group. But, pushing your limits is what will bring breakthroughs coming sooner!
    Coach Dean

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

