Shocking sensation

Distance: 10.2 mi

Time: 1:34:46

Averaging a 9:17 pace over 10 miles a week after a marathon…?  I’ll take it!

Met up with some of the CMC runners this morning (several groups going several directions… I got confused about who was where so I just went to a trailhead and waited…).  I was looking for something in the 8:30 to 9:00 pace and found one of the groups doing just that, so I invited myself along (hope that’s OK…).  The route took us through downtown and then down toward a favorite trail, then up an ugly hill and home.  A good run at a conversational pace and I felt really good throughout.

…but…

Tell me if any of you have heard of this…

About 5 miles into the run I noticed what I thought was a part of my jacket hitting my leg.  But it felt kind of funny.  I tugged at the jacket and noticed that there was nothing touching my leg, but it still felt like it was almost being shocked with every impact.  Kind of like a TENS unit, for those of you who have ever had physical therapy.  The sensation slowly grew so that my right inner quad and my left outer calf continually felt as if they were being shocked for the rest of the run.  It did not “hurt” as much as it was just noticeable and slightly uncomfortable.

Strangely enough, these two spots were the ones that had the worst cramping when I got dehydrated during the marathon.  I wonder if this is just a leftover from that?  I really have no idea.  I was not dehydrated today as I have been drinking gallons of water and gatorade as kind of an apology to my body for last week.  Maybe this was my body saying “Thanks, but… F*** you anyway.”

I felt surprisingly good on the hills today, charging up the big, ugly one with gas to spare.  I’m already on the prowl for another 5K or maybe a 10K to do soon.  I’m also looking for “runner specific” weightlifting programs.  Mostly core strength, stretching and some upper body stuff.  This afternoon I am going to pull out my old mountain bike and see if it still loves me after years of neglect.  Hopefully we can make amends.  Some people are going riding at a spot very close to me tomorrow and I want to get in on it.  We’ll see if I remember how!

One Response to Shocking sensation

  1. tom says:

    Your recovery is amazing, Bob. Seems like your body is letting you get away with the rapid return to speed work. The pain in the quad is probably some incomplete recovery. I’ve always felt that the cramping spots in the marathon linger longer because there’s still some inflammation going on there. Good luck getting re-acquainted with your bike.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

