Marathon…? What marathon?

Distance: 4 mi

Time: Traknight

One quick point of clarification about my last post.  These are NOT all things I want to do this year…!  Even I’m not THAT ambitious.  These are lifelong goals.  Things to do before I die.  Doing all of these things in one year…?  Would definitely kill me…

Yes.  Four days after the marathon and I did the full track workout…  OK… maybe I’m in a little better shape than I thought…  Funny thing is, when it was over, I wanted to run more.  How sick is that…

Tonight’s agenda was a mile warmup, a 1200, 3 X 400, 2 X 300, 3 X 200 and our now infamous 4 minute mile relay.  It was cool and a bit blustery so I was a bit concerned about my still twinging legs, but they held together just fine.  I ran the 1200 fast (remember, fast “for me”, slow for everybody else) in 5 flat.  I ran my first 400 in 1:30 (too fast) and then backed down on the other two to about 1:40.  Then I did a funny thing.  I stopped timing myself and just tried to “feel” my pace while running fast.  This is something I think I need to practice on.  Since I don’t have a Garmin, there is no way to monitor my pace other than feel.  Personally, I think this is good practice.  For the mile relay, I ran a 200m leg (admittedly slow, I was tired) instead of my usual 100m leg.  It was kind of fun because we had enough people for a team of 10 adults and then all the kids (12) that run with us made up a team and stole a couple of ringers to pad their chances of beating us.  They had us until the last turn, but once again, age and treachery won the day.  Even though running really hard like that at the end of a workout can be a challenge, we all admitted tonight that it is really fun.  I’m actually kinda sad that we will only be doing this until Thanksgiving and then we take the winter off and don’t start again until the end of February.  For something I dragged myself to, kicking and screaming, the first time, I have really come to enjoy and look forward to the traknight workouts.  I didn’t run track in school so technique, form and speed work are all new to me.

Oh, and don’t let the title fool you.  I am not belittling the glory that was “my” marathon in any way.  It simply refers to how fast my body recovered from the beating I gave it.  It just seems like my body is saying “OK.  I’m good to go.  What’s next?”  I guess I just thought it would take longer to recover.

One Response to Marathon…? What marathon?

  1. It doesn’t take nearly as long as you think. A week after my first full marathon, I ran a VERY hilly half-marathon straight into the teeth of a nasty headwind, just because I’d always wanted to run the course and wasn’t sure I’d be in marathon condition when that race rolled around the next year. My coach wasn’t too happy about my decision to run 13.1 a week after 26.2, but I took a leisurely pace and felt great when I finished.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

