Well that didn’t take long

Distance: 4 mi

Time: Unknown

On the first Tuesday after my first marathon I thought for sure that I would just walk. And I did. For a little while… But the Jones hit me about a half mile in and, despite my still aching quads, I took off at what can only be described as a lumbering trot. But it felt really good! And after a mile or so I settled into about a 9:45 pace that felt smooth and comfortable. Looks like all that training did something after all!

I remember thinking during the marathon that there were some things I wanted to do. Sort of a runner’s “Things To Do Before I Die” list. As I moved along the course I started to formulate the list and thought I would share it with you. It’s not complete and I’m sure I will add stuff to it as I check other things off, but here goes.

  1. Run in New York City as the sun comes up.
  2. Run in the Rocky Mountains (don’t care where)
  3. Run at least once in all of the lower 48 states (Oklahoma, Missouri and California can be checked off this list already)
  4. Run at midnight under a full moon in the woods.
  5. Compete in a triathlon.
  6. Compete in a duathlon.
  7. Run a sub 20 minute 5K.
  8. Run a sub 1:40 half.
  9. Qualify for Boston or New York.
  10. Run one of those military style, obstacle course races.
  11. Run a family fun run with my wife and son (and daughter in a few years)

Just a few thoughts and fun stuff to do. I’m sure this will change as I go but it’s a start!

2 Responses to Well that didn’t take long

  1. I’m trying to whip up some enthusiasm for a recovery run, but so far I’m just sitting here reading about them! That is a pretty ambitious list, but it is certainly doable. As long as you are going to run at midnight under the full moon in the woods, you should also give it a try in the desert. I recommend the ET Full Moon Midnight Marathon, Half Marathon & 10K. It’s not just a race, it’s an adventure! http://seedivarun.com/blog/index.php/races/et-full-moon-midnight-half-marathon

  2. Pokey says:

    Excellent! You have new goals!

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

