One long run and done!

Distance: 5.5mi

Time: 49:56

So I’ve got one more run over 5 miles planned (7 on Saturday morning) and then a week of 12 total miles before the marathon.  I can now see the forecast for the 20th and it says “partly cloudy and 68”.  I’m sure this will change before the day of the marathon at least 5 times (after all, we are in the midwest), but at least currently the temperature looks good and there is little chance of rain.

I guess it’s just hard to believe I’m done (almost).  I mean, I will never be done running.  That much is certain.  I love it more than ever.  I just mean I’m done “training” for one event.  Can you believe I already had somebody ask me when I was going to run another one?  I almost barfed.  GEEZE!  Let’s see if I live through this one first…  another one…*snort*  Marathoners are almost as badly addicted to their sport as triathletes… 🙂

Since I have begun my taper I have been working on running my pace and maybe it’s just a coincidence or some weird take on my part, but I feel very alone.  It’s almost like a pitcher who is in the 8th inning of a no hit bid.  Nobody wants to sit with him in the dugout.  Likewise, I find myself running alone (unless I chase people down).  Most of this is the pace I’m running.  It’s just not a common one with this group.  But this morning we started off with a group of about 60 (it was cold (39!!) so the group was small).  I started in the middle of the pack and within a mile I was completely alone.  By the time I hit mile 4 there was no one within a quarter mile of me.  I have been running so much with groups and friends lately that I forgot how much I missed that solitude.  But, oddly enough, I kind of felt uncomfortable at the same time.  It was kind of like it hit me that it was time.  And even though the group probably pulled me through this to where I am today,  it’s all me now.  I won’t run with them again until after the marathon.  Even though I can still only name a handful of them, they’re a great group.  I credit them not only with keeping me going, but also making me want to keep going after the marathon.  I probably won’t run the week after the marathon, but I’m already looking forward to getting back out there again with them.  Almost as much as I am running the marathon…

3 Responses to One long run and done!

  1. Amy says:

    Our running friends are almost as good as the running. Both keep us coming back before. Enjoy the remaining easy miles of your taper – I bet it is going to be hard to hold back when you hit the start line of your marathon.

  2. Dude, I feel the same way. Last 20-miler for me today too, and I almost wanted it not to end because I know I’m going to dread the tapering. Anyway, best of luck with your race. I’m sure you’ll do very well.

  3. Pokey says:

    Best wishes on your race! You’re going to be great!

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

