Let the season begin!

Distance: 6.25 mi

Time: 52:19

Today we did a run called “President’s Hill”.  Named so because it is on a hill that runs by the president of the University of Missouri’s house.  I like the run and it has a couple of good hills in it so I was looking forward to the day.  When I got to the trailhead I realized that I hadn’t checked my light beforehand and, as is Murphy’s Law, it was dead.  So I ran without it.  I just decided to follow people with lights through the rough areas and enjoy the moonlight in the clear areas.  The only problem I had was finding a good pace group.  They were either a little too fast or a little too slow, so I just gave up and ran alone in the moonlight.  It was beautiful.  I actually kinda like that more than running with the light, although I know it is a necessary evil if I want to save my ankles from dropped walnuts, rocks, twigs, etc. that seek to destroy them.  I do think, though, that I will leave the light at home for any and all upcoming full moon days that coincide with our runs.  It’s just too pretty to blot out with a headlamp…  AFTER the marathon… of course…

There is a lot of wild eyed excitement among the members this week as we are full on into marathon season.  We have people running Chicago, Kansas City, Columbus, Baltimore, something in Utah, New York and a couple of others I can’t remember the names of.  Now it’s our turn to be the excited ones and watch the TriGeeks mumble about lack of goals or direction… heh!  Actually, they are very supportive of us “Thoners”, even if we are a bit one dimensional…  I think it confuses them…

I, personally am happy, if a bit sore.  Not sure why.  Just generally muscle sore and a bit fatigued.  I am presenting at a conference this week, so this post is brought to you live from beautiful downtown Springfield, Missouri.  Actually though, I think it will give me a bit of time to recover.  They have a dreadmill if I should be so inclined, but more importantly… they have a hot tub… oooooooooohhhh….  Maybe three days of hot tub therapy will do me some good…  I’m sure gonna find out…!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

