Me and the boy

Distance: 2 X 1.25 mi

Time: 1 @ 17:15 (with the boy), 1 @ 9:05

This is usually an off day for me but I ran enough tonight to actually post about it.

My son has been slowly progressing and I am very proud of him.  His complete story is, he is 9 years old, an admitted couch potato and fairly seriously overweight.  He came to a tearful decision one night that he was tired of being “chubby” and wanted to start running with me.  While I was thrilled with the decision, I was, at the same time, concerned about distance running as a sport for one so young.  I decided to go ahead and work with him but to limit his mileage until he gets older and stronger.

Since his initial walk/jog around our local park path in 24:00 he has slowly improved both in time, effort and amount he runs vs. walks.  Last week, for the first time, he jogged the entire 1.25 mile lap in 18:31!!  Tonight, he blew this record away with a 17:15!  I’m so excited for him.  He is proud of himself, and he should be.  That’s a 13:48 mile pace on 9 year old legs.  I am already worried that it won’t be long and I won’t be able to keep up with him… 🙂

Once we finished our lap I decided to try and see how fast I could run a lap.  The last time I remember running this course for time, I ran an 11:30 something lap.  Tonight I ran a 9:05.  That’s a 7:16 mile pace.   And the significance of the achievement?  This is the same course I started on.  The one I couldn’t run without walking.  The one I ran my first timed mile on in 12:50 just over a year ago.  I guess I’m kinda proud of me too… 😉

2 Responses to Me and the boy

  1. Amy says:

    Congratulations to you and to your son! What a great story, experience and fast times! I keep watching your story because he sounds so similar to my son. I want to see his inner runner bust out – but I guess it is too busy playing Pokemon.

    If he doesn’t think that it is too corny, can I send him (and you if you would like) a “I am a runner” bracelet?

  2. It’s great that you are able to share your love of running with your son. My son sometimes comes out for a run with me on his day off. He is grown up and married now, so this is a great way for us to catch up. Definitely much better than going out to eat!

    Congrats on all that new found speed. Whenever I read about it, it makes me want to do speed work. I seriously need to start reading your blog in the morning instead of before bed!

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

