Saturday morning mosey

Distance: 9.2 mi

Time: 1:18:20

So I guessed the distance on this run and I came up a bit short of my intended 10 miles for the day, but it’s no biggie.  The run was fantastic, beautiful and comfortable.  When I got in I felt like I could go another loop.  I didn’t take any water with me and didn’t drink on the way and I felt fine.

I forgot there was a 5K run today on the part of the trail I was finishing on, so I was quite startled to come around a corner and be confronted by a herd of skinnies bearing down on me.  It was amazing how many people that were running the race were familiar to me.  I loved the puzzled looks I got from some of them.  That “I didn’t see you at the starting line… where’s your number?  How did you get into the lead?” kind of a look.  I wasn’t going to let them think any different.  I just grunted some words of encouragement and moseyed on my merry way.

As the weather cools off I have learned that I need to add something to my bag of tricks…  I gotta get some Fog-B-Gone for my sunglasses!  I ran down into a valley and the temperature dropped about 5 degrees.  As I rounded a bend and went into the shade, my glasses immediately fogged up so bad I had to take them off for fear of crashing into a tree.  I also seem to have developed a bad habit of stepping directly on sharp, pointy rocks with the ball of my foot.  Even though I have new shoes, I am still getting stone bruises.  Not bad ones, but just enough to make me shout colorful phrases into the morning mist, which tends to weird people out a bit…  Like I care…

Next week I will run on Tuesday but the rest of my week is a big question mark.  I am at a conference in Springfield and I don’t know how much running I will get in.  Hopefully the hotel will at least have a treadmill I can use.  I don’t want to run too much anyway, since I am running a half marathon next Sunday, but it would be good to at least keep my legs loose.

Twenty days to go, baby!!!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

