Miles To Go…

Distance: 6.88 mi

Time: 1:00:44

A little tired from the effort last night, but not bad.  Today’s route was one that I had not run before, which made the run go faster.  That and the fact that it was so foggy I had to direct my light almost straight down in order to see.  I love running in the fog!  This route took us through town so the lights of the city were beautiful as we ran downtown.  We stayed in a pack for the first several miles and got some great looks from bleary eyed drivers.  At one point we were crossing a major road and there were about 60 of us spread out all across the road.  A police car was coming the other way on the road and just pulled over and stopped.  He looked completely baffled.  As we ran by, he asked us what we were doing and one of our leaders simply said “Just running”.  The look on his face told me he had no idea what that meant, but he was nice enough to turn on his hazard lights (even though there were no cars on the road) until the bulk of us had crossed the road.  I’m sure we didn’t help our case by crossing like a herd of cats instead of in a nice orderly pack.  We were spread out over several hundred yards and some people ran on the road for a long time (just because they could… 😉  ahh… well).  The only bad thing about this run, logistically, was that it ran by two locally famous breakfast restaurants and the smell was incredible.  Had I not been running with Kathy, who grabbed me by the ear and firmly said “NO”, I would have been in the door and sipping coffee in a heartbeat…  I miss pancakes… *sigh*.  Anyway, the rest of the run took us back on to the trail and back into the fog.  I swear it got darker as we ran.  There were a couple of points where I could see nothing outside of my headlamp.  Which made it easy to focus, I guess…

As I have been keeping track of my mileage at Traineo, one of the custom charts I have set up is a “Miles To Go” graph that I subtract the days mileage from as I run.  For the longest time, that number hung in the triple digits and never seemed to come down.  After this morning’s run, I updated it as usual and then got goosebumps as I finally paid attention to what it said.  I only have 68 miles left to run in my training for the marathon.  And 30 of those miles will come in 3 runs.  This was a “light at the end of the tunnel” moment for me.  I’m almost done with the training… Man… that sounds really weird…

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

