Flat habits

Distance: 5 mi

Time: 40:23

OK… now I’m gettin’ pissed…

Well… ok… not really.

Yet another day of flirting with the magical 8 minute barrier for a run over 5 miles.  It was odd this morning in that it felt like the pack went out slow.  Maybe I was just pushing because I was trying to get below 8s, but they didn’t seem to take off until about mile 3.  Until then they were bunched up and clogging up the trail and I couldn’t get around!  That’s it… I’ll blame the fast runners.  They were going too slow…

Heh! 🙂

Since it is dark in the morning now and hard to read my watch, I have been trying to concentrate on “feeling” my pace.  Checking my turnover and stride, monitoring my breathing and focusing on relaxing my upper body.  The watch is still there but I am using it more as a backup and a way to confirm that I am feeling my pace correctly.  I think that, as I slowly continue to improve my times, this will be more and more important.

I think where I am the most careless or lose concentration the quickest is on the flats.  Ups and downs usually get my attention enough to concentrate on them.  But if I am going to slow down, it seems to be on the flats.  I really think this is a concentration issue.  When I hit the flats, my mind wanders once I hit my pace and I am prone to slowing down.  It’s a bad habit.  One of many.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

