My running life AFTER the marathon…

Distance: 4.5 mi

Time: Speed work

Tonight was one of those nights where my heart was in the right place but I just didn’t feel right.  I was sluggish, had no turnover and was really winded after each run.  Not sure why, other than it was kinda warm.  Still.  Any run you can walk away from is a good one!

We ran a 1600 at 5k pace, then 2- 600s with a buddy and then 3- 300s  with a buddy.  The only good to come out of the workout for me was that I ran my 1600 at 7:00.26.  I’m not sure if I could maintain that for a full 5k but it felt comfortable.  Next week will be the acid test as we run another 1600, this time at mile pace…!  I would really like to get around 6:45.  Hopefully it will be cooler and I will feel better.

I think my next goal after finishing the marathon is to try to beat 22:00 for a 5k.  I think it’s possible with more speed work if I can lose a bit more weight.  I am going to try to achieve this goal by the St. Paddy’s Day 5k in March.  This was my first race back after an 11 year hiatus from running and I ran a 26:13.  I think knocking 4 minutes off of my 5k time in a year is pretty impressive, if I can do it!

I am really trying hard to focus now on life AFTER the marathon.  Last time I just stopped running, then I got hurt.  I want to make running a lifelong thing so I am really trying to make these races and big milestones a MEANS more than an END.  And… I have to admit… I have been seriously thinking about triathlon/duathlons as well in the upcoming years.  Not the long ones, maybe just the sprint distance.  But still, it looks like fun!  I just need to rob a few banks or sell a kidney or two to pay for the bike/pool membership/clothing… etc.   *sigh*

…anybody got a yard they need mowed?

… will work for bike shorts…

One Response to My running life AFTER the marathon…

  1. Amy says:

    Heck yes, you can mow my lawn, but I don’t think you would look good in my bike shorts. Now is a great time to grab a bike as the tri athletes sell off their bikes from this year. I love the TRI’s, but have never fully “invested” in the costly gear. My $200 bike has hung in there for about 8 years and I still love it.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

