Bear Creek

Distance: 7.5 mi

Time: 1:06:53

I put off my run yesterday so that I could do a few things around the house and also get ready for a bonfire party we had last night.  It was finally cool enough to actually HAVE a bonfire and I wanted to share, so I invited some friends over.  The upside was that it was great to have friends over and just relax and have a good time.  The downside was that I stayed up until 1am, ate junk food and drank beer (…mmmm…. beeer….) so I felt like crud this morning.  I must be getting old… (er).  The end result was a run that felt a bit sludgy at first, but I took it easy and just enjoyed the ride.  My legs felt fine after a bit and it ended up being a beautiful run.

I ran a route today on the trail that got me started back into running again.  Partly because it was close to the house, but also because it was clearly marked and mostly flat.  There is one infamous hill in it that is brutal, but I seldom ran it when I was just starting again and then it seemed like not time at all before this trail got too short to run.  I remember suffering to finish 3 miles on it one day and then snorting at it seemingly the next day because it was too short at just over 8 miles total.  It all seemed to change so quickly.

The course runs out the back of a huge park, down “the hill” and then into a river bottom for about 4 miles.  The park has a 1.25 mile paved trail in it and from this trail to the back of the park is about 1/3 of a mile, so I ran the park trail first, then turned off and ran down the other trail (called Bear Creek).  Bear Creek winds through a nature preserve and marsh land, through forests and steep rock walls by the creek itself.  All in all it makes for a really pretty run and is only used sparingly by the locals so it is almost always uncrowded and peaceful.

I think about mile 5 I finally sweated the last of the beer out of my system (goodbye… old friend… *sniff*) and felt amazingly better when I finished.  I am not an advocate of drinking, by any means, but I do love the guilty pleasure of a beer on rare occasions.  I know it’s bad for me so I’m mostly good about it, but there are those times…

Anyway, light mileage this week and then 18 to 20 next Saturday and then I START MY TAPER!!!!

…gah!

One Response to Bear Creek

  1. tom says:

    Thanks for the summary of your run, Bob. Bear Creek sounds wonderful, especially since it marks a time in your running when you were just starting back.

    The beer is not so taboo as a lot of other foods and drinks. Tastes so good–make that perfect–with certain foods.

    The tape is a beautiful thing. The body goes through amazing recovery.

    Keep up the great work!

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

