Running Mental

Distance: 7.5 mi

Time: 1:08:30

If somebody were to describe what it feels like to be dragged behind a horse, I’m pretty sure this would be it.  These back to back workouts (less than 12 hours apart) are rough!  I REEEALLY wanted to walk… or just quit… go have a donut… something… anything but finish my run.

The way I felt was really odd, though.  I had severe muscle pain in my hammies, butt and calves.  But my turnover was good and my lungs were fine.  So even as I was debating the goodness and comfort of aborting the run at the closest Starbucks, I felt like I was still moving OK.

I was definitely (and, I suppose, understandably) slower today, but I think this was definitely one of those “mental” runs.  You know, where the hardest part of the run is just keeping yourself convinced you need to keep running?  I have said before that your brain isn’t a muscle so it is harder to “train”, but these kinds of runs help.  Even though your brain is screaming “stop”, you keep going.  And when you are finished, your brain says “oh…  we did it?  …kewl!”  Now, while you KNEW you could do it, sometimes you have to prove it to your brain anyway.  And this also gives you a nugget to use the next time you have a tough run.  I always use these runs to remind my tiny little brain that, hey, this is nothing.  I’ve done it before (or worse) so it’s no big deal.  This game always works with me.  I think this is why I felt the need to run the full 26 miles in training before I ran the marathon.  Now I know that, since I have already bagged the distance, I have that nugget to use as a motivator when my brain says “quit”.

2 Responses to Running Mental

  1. Bob says:

    You have to love those conversations with yourself…come on that’s enough we’re tired!! Didn’t we just run last night??!!

    Way to show the brain who’s boss!!!

    Bob

  2. tom says:

    Our brain own us and we can’t outfox it. But it will give you credit for having run the distance before so you’re probably in good standing with the gray matter.

    Sometimes it feels like our legs and brains are several time zones apart.

    And those descriptions of being dragged behind a horse…they’re called marathon summaries…

    Keep up the good work!

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

