Traknight (no… that’s not a misspell)

Distance: 5 mi

Time: Speed work

Gotta go back a day here since I forgot to post this yesterday and had an all day meeting today. So please press rewind and pretend like you are reading this post this morning…

Nice evening for a run! We had the local youth track club running with us tonight so we had 36 runners! And every one of the little bastards was faster than me… *sigh* 😉

It’s great to see kids interested in the sport though. They were all very excited and motivated. They have a big race coming up this weekend so they were working extra hard. Same problems as the big people though. Going out too fast and dying at the end, etc. I was a bit disappointed that their “coach” didn’t do more “coaching”. Things like watching their pace and form, etc. I think it’s important to teach that stuff early and often. That’s my little coach’s voice coming out… sorry.

Although I didn’t run particularly fast, I felt like I pushed myself pretty hard and at the end of the last 200 I was jelly legged and spent. After the cool down I crashed on the nice, soft, cool soccer field pitch and almost fell asleep before my family arrived. My son ran 2 laps around the track without stopping! I’m very proud of him and it won’t be long before I can’t keep up with him anymore! It’s wonderful to see him do something physical that he likes, and get positive feedback for it. I am thinking about slowly introducing him to the kids track club and see what he thinks about maybe joining in the spring.
_______________________________________

Later

Oops… forgot to tell you WHY the title is not a misspell.

…umm

That’s just how they spell it…  Who am I to argue?

One Response to Traknight (no… that’s not a misspell)

  1. tom says:

    I was on our local track tonight when a track club was just getting started. it is uplifting to see them so energized.

    One of the best legacies you can leave to your son is to introduce him to a life-time activity like running–of course we’re biased.

    Also, I’m wondering if with your coach’s voice in you perhaps you’d enjoy volunteering as a coach. It’s very rewarding.

    Great post!

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

