The view from up here

I’m running the track workout tonight but I had a second and after reading through some of your training logs I got a bit reflective.  I went back through my mileage log, just to see where I came from and was surprised by my own numbers.  I have been on my marathon “training program” since March 15th.  At the point I started, my longest weekly run was 4 miles and I was averaging 15 miles per week.  Here’s what I found out when I did the math:

Total distance (March 15 to September 15): 744 miles

Average mile time for a 5 mile run (in March): 10:45

Average mile time for a 5 mile run (September 4): 7:38

Total hours spent on the road/trail: 164

Highest weekly total: 41 miles

Runs over 20 miles: 4

Runs over 13 miles: 18 (starting with first one in late May)

Highest monthly total: August 1 to August 31- 142 miles

Pounds lost since March 15: 33

Pairs of shoes: 3

Hammer Gel packets: 62

Injuries: 2- one running, one home improvement related

Time off due to injuries: 3 days (twisted ankle on run), 1 1/2 weeks (dropped box of granite tiles on my big toe)

Sunrises/sunsets seen: 40 sunrises/52 sunsets.  Every one was worth it.

Races run: 5

Races left to run: 2 (Columbia Half Marathon Challenge and KC Marathon)

I know this may not be much for a seasoned marathoner.  Some run 100 miles a week.  But, for me, it’s great to look back down the hill and see how far I’ve climbed.  I still have a bit of a hill to go, but I can see the top and it’s really beautiful up here…!

I think this is a great way to help you get through your “doldrums” period in your training.  A lot of runners I train with are in that period now, where you question your sanity and it just seems like all you are doing is running, eating and sleeping but you are just far enough away from the “goal” of the race that sometimes you forget why you are here.  Looking back at where you were and how far you’ve come is a great way to boost your spirits.  Did you ever think you could run this far?

3 Responses to The view from up here

  1. Although I am not in the same league as you are when it comes to mileage, I think this is a good exercise no matter what. I love to look through my Garmin data to pick out some trends. My only question is – how do you keep track of your gel packs? 🙂

    Jeremy

  2. Amy says:

    Wow! What a journey you are on! I just read your last few posts, backwards, so it was a “well, of course you ran fast – look at the work you have put in”. You just have to be proud of what you have accomplished. Your marathon is going to feel like dessert! Way to go.

  3. Bob says:

    33 pounds since the Ides of March??? What is your secret?
    You have come a long way and I agree with Amy ,you will eat that marathon up!!

    Way to go.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

