Lifting “the weight”

Distance: 6.2 mi

Time: 50:30

Spent the two evenings since my long run helping a friend cut up a 50 foot tall, 32 inch diameter section of a maple tree that blew down in the wind storm we had last week. It nicked the side of her house, but only knocked down her gutters. She’s lucky… A direct hit from a branch that big would have destroyed her house. Anyway, the two day chainsaw fest taxed my chainsaw muscles for the first time in a year, leaving my back and large sized ass end feeling stiff and sore (me with a sore butt is akin to a giraffe with a sore throat…), so I was hoping this morning’s run would loosen things up a bit.

It’s kinda funny, the route we ran today was one I had been thinking I wanted to run again, then we get the email saying this is the route we are running today… Maybe I should start thinking about winning the lotto… hmm…

Today’s route was a true 10K (one of my favorite distances) that has a long straight section with two long hills in it. They are not overly hard or steep… just long (one is about a mile and the other is just over a half mile) and back to back with a small down between them. The route ends on a big downhill that you can really open up and fly on so, all in all, it’s a favorite of mine. As usual, we started out in the dark and stayed in the dark for over half the route. More and more headlamps are appearing!

I took off at a moderate pace just to see how I felt and after a bit of a warm up I discovered that I felt REALLY good! I sped up and made contact with the lead pack and stuck with them for over half of the run. They finally dropped me about the middle of the last big hill, but that is still much longer than I usually hang with them. I finished at an 8:08 pace. I think I could have run a little faster but I was pleased with this pace on this hilly a route. I think I have pretty much shaken my fear of the hills in the KC Marathon. I don’t think there is anything it can throw at me that I can’t handle.

I haven’t mentioned my weight in a while. It just seemed to be one too many things to obsess about. I am down to between 185 and 190 now. I doubt I will make my goal of 170 by race day, but I feel good and seem to be able to handle longer runs with the extra weight, as long as I slow down. So I think I will run KC anyway. If I can get below 180, that would be even better, but I’m not worried about it anymore. I know now that as long as I keep running and moderate my intake, I will eventually meet my weight goal as well. I am to the point now where I have started to shift priorities a bit. I know that my weight will take care of itself as long as I take care of me. It’s actually a really nice feeling to not have to worry about it so much (Pay attention? Yes. Worry? No.). Although I still need to lose weight, I don’t feel like I’m in as much danger of a health crisis as I was a year ago when I got this silly marathon idea. Now the marathon seems reasonable, I consider a 6 mile run as “short”, I’m 55lb. lighter, my resting heart rate is 48 and my blood pressure is normal. The rest of it will take care of itself.

2 Responses to Lifting “the weight”

  1. Amy says:

    Wow – 55 lbs is fantastic. You know, big bottoms mean fast times – it’s all turbo powered muscles back there!

  2. tomrunnerslounge says:

    Bob, you’ve accomplished a lot in your time running.

    I still face the challenge of eating better even though I run a lot. Crap is crap. Even for marathoners.

    In my experience running hilly marathons, the downhills are far worse than the uphills–kills the quads as you are constantly braking when running down hill.

    Keep up the great work!

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

