What were we talking about?

Distance: 7.1

Time: 61:50

The good news about me and running is that I have short term memory loss. I may be miserable about a run that went afoul but it doesn’t last long. I forget runs or they blur with other ones almost instantly. The pain fades and I’m ready to move on. Whether or not the marathon is a victory lap or a death march, I am still very excited about running and already looking forward to life after marathon training. With only 4 long runs left until the marathon there is light at the end of the tunnel. I am hoping to start working on more speed stuff and see if I can’t get my 5K and 10K times down next spring. I am also going to start weightlifting and once I get my armor built I’m going to start fighting heavy weapons (SCA armored combat) again. I have given myself back my health and my body… now it’s time to start abusing it again… 🙂

It’s kinda funny when I look at my time for today and think that less than 3 months ago I couldn’t run 6 miles in that same time and I don’t feel like I really ran fast today. I just kinda cruised. It was a beautiful morning but it is definitely staying dark a bit longer now… 😦 We had 97 runners this morning and when we took off it was definitely dark! I’m gonna hafta get one of those headlamps soon…!! The route took us out through the trails and then up 3 pretty serious hills, one of which has my friend Kathy’s number. It’s not a big hill but it’s steep and she fights to get up it every time. She cracks me up because she is pretty straight laced but this hill makes her say bad words… yeah, Kathy… me too…!

I still have some of the lingering effects of whatever the heck happened to me on Saturday running through my system. My legs got pretty fatigued and I started getting side stitches about the last mile, but I was able to make it in. Kathy made me kick the last quarter mile (ouch) and I found that even though I was tired, I could still pick it up a bit. Of course… it helped that we finished on a downhill… 🙂

This month is going to be a bit of a challenge as far as keeping my running schedule. I am going to be out of the office traveling and teaching all around the state, so a lot of my posts will be from hotel rooms, but I’ll manage.

…Later…

I just did the math and I ran 120 miles in July…  This is more miles than I ran combined in the 10 years from my back surgery until I started running again a year and a half ago.  …and definitely something to be proud of…

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

