I’m not gonna say it was “bad”, but…

Distance: 5.5 mi

Time: 50.03

I don’t know if I would classify this as a “bad” run as much as maybe just a tough run after a bad night and another tough run.

The track workout yesterday left me a bit dehydrated and sore.  Although I tried to drink lots of water during the evening, I was very uncomfortable when I went to bed and only got about 3 hours sleep.  So this morning 5:00am came a bit earlier than usual.  I felt stiff and sore for most of the run and never seemed to settle into any kind of groove.  The run was supposed to be fartleks every half mile, but I could only do 2 of them.  In the end I just slogged back in and was happy to put another 5.5 miles in the books.  I am very tired, sleepy, hungry and sore.  My legs are really uncomfortable.  I have chugged about a half gallon of water so far and still haven’t gone to the bathroom yet (on top of two cups of coffee in a desperate attempt to wake up…), so, obviously, I’m still dehydrated.

I knew this schedule would be tough because running at 5:30pm and then running again at 5:30am is just barely enough time to recover, but I was hoping it might get better.  But the hot weather and withering wind conspired against me.  I am already looking forward to crawling into my bed this evening and it’s only 10am…

The upside of all this is that I don’t run again until Saturday morning, which gives me the majority of 2 full days off.  I need it.  And I never in a million years thought I would say this but… I am really looking forward to this Saturday’s run because it is “short”.  It’s ONLY 13 miles.  When that became “short”, I dunno.  Seems like only a week ago that 3 miles was “long” and 13 miles was impossible to even think about…

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

