Hot track

Distance: 4 mi

Time: Track Workout

Gah!  Now I remember why I started running in the mornings!  How does 95 degrees and 88% humidity sound?  Heat index a pleasant 103…  Hey… at least there was a blast furnace like wind to dry the sweat instantly to make us miserable AND give us a nice salt crust at the same time…

Actually, I’m joking.  Yes, it was hot and muggy.  But there is something about group exercise like this that seems to help/motivate me.  I do like the solitude of running but secretly…  its nice to see other people suffer too…

…is that bad?

I could, however, feel myself wilting a bit on the second lap of the 800s we ran.  I was trying to maintain a 1:40 per lap pace for both 800s but faded on both of them.  I tried to run 1:30 pace on my 400s.  I nailed the first one but wilted on the second one.  And it was definitely the heat.  My legs felt weak and it seemed harder to breathe.  We should only have about another month of this, though, and then it will start to cool off again.  I can put up with it that long…

I try to run these distances essentially as fast as I think I can.  I doubt very seriously I could maintain this pace for a full mile, much less a 5K.  I’m just trying to air out my stride a little bit.  Those short, choppy, marathon strides are made to work as few muscles as possible.  Track running is completely different and I think it is helping me.

On the weight front,  I havent’ lost a pound in over 3 weeks.  However, the pants I bought 2 months ago at a MUCH smaller waste size are now starting to get loose.  And although I don’t have that six pack yet, I can at least say I have a 2 pack.  I can definitely see the top two abdominal muscles now.  That spare tire just won’t let go, though.  It has shrunk to the size of a mountain bike tire (from the tractor tire I started with), but it’s still there.  I haven’t changed anything about my diet in over 3 months.  In fact, I might be eating a tiny bit more.  Just no eating out, homecooked meals (thanks to my darling wife) with less fat and no processed sugar and healthy snacks.  I have, for the most part, had to say goodbye to pizza and my beloved beer (like I said… for the most part), but these are small sacrifices.  I know if I keep doing what I’m doing, the weight will come off.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

