There… That’s better…

Distance: 16.2

Time: 2:47:00

OK… That… was doable.

To say that I was “worried” about my long run today was a bit of an understatement.  After the belly flop I performed on my last 16 miler (had to walk most of the last 3) I had managed to intimidate myself a bit about the long runs.

After much research, consultation with everyone from professional triathletes to the local psychic (no… not really…) and a bit of soul searching (as in: that really hurt… why do I wanna do this… again?) I came up with a plan to try it again.  A plan I am pleased to say really worked.

Oh, I still hurt a bit, but I just ran 16 miles… I’m kinda supposed to.  But no more than after a hard 10K.  And I don’t feel like I need a nap.  In fact, after I finish this, I’m going out to do yard work!

Here’s the plan.  Take it for what it’s worth:

I have cut back to 4 days a week training.  Three organized “group” runs for motivation and variety and one long run.  I was just beating my body up too much at 5 to 6 days a week and I never had time to recover.

I need to eat.  I need more calories DURING the run or I run out of gas and BONK.  So I changed two things.  First,I made my run a double loop so that I could stop back by my truck and refuel.  I stopped for 3 minutes, ate a peanut butter sandwich, a gel and a bottle of water.  This REALLY helped.  Second, I switched from water to Perpetuem in my water bottles.  It’s a calorie replacement fuel that is easy to take and is a major help.  I felt as if I had very few of those speed up/slow down periods and I was able to maintain a very steady pace.

Other things I did:

I took gel packs every 4 miles (I used to do every six).

I stopped and walked for 15 seconds every mile through my “water stops”.  The time was easy to make up and the walk not only helped me recover just a bit, but also helped make sure I got a good drink.

With the walks and the stop in the middle, I still managed a 10:18 pace (my goal is 10:00) AND, and this was the most impressive thing to me, my second eight mile loop was 2 minutes FASTER than my first loop.  I also think I probably could have gone at least a couple more miles.  I felt that good…

I think with all these changes, as my fitness improves and I can trim the walks and breaks a bit, it should be easier (NOTE: I did not say “easy”… just easiER) to meet my goal time of 10 minute miles.

I’ll let you know in 2 weeks when I try this again for 18

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

