400 miles and butterflies

Distance: 5.7

Time: 49:33

Great run this morning. Even with an ugly up about a mile into it. Maintained a good pace throughout and felt strong at the end. Much better than I thought I would do in the first run after the half marathon I did on Saturday…!

So during my run this morning I put my marathon training into a perspective that both thrilled and terrified me at the same time. In essence, it boils down to this. The Jokers Wild Half last Saturday marked 16 weeks left until the KC marathon. So? Well, this means I have 6 long runs left. This Saturday is 16, then 18, 20, 22, 24 and finally 26 the last week in September if I alternate every other week. While the mileages are daunting, it just seems odd to me that there are so few left. That there is actually an end to this. And that it is now clearly in sight. This was very exciting for me. I got a little adrenaline rush just thinking about it. But, at the same time, that self doubt crept in and I got really scared. I still haven’t run more than 16 miles. I still haven’t lost all the weight I wanted to and I don’t know if I will be able to in time. Then that adrenaline turned to butterflies and I felt a little sick.

To take my mind off of all the self doubt, I started playing with numbers. The way I figure it, in order to achieve my goal of getting to the starting line at the KC marathon, I simply need to run about 440 miles. This includes every run from now, through my longest run, to my taper and down to the starting line. That’s 440 miles in 4 months, with the largest month being September with about 168 miles (there are 5 Saturdays in September).

…I’m not sure if this is helping with the whole “self doubt” thing…

But here’s what does help. If I can run 168 miles in September I will have beaten my total monthly mileage from last September by 125 miles. That’s insane…

…but really, really cool.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

