4 on the 4th

Distance: 4 mi

Time: 32:08

Happy Independence Day!

So after much detonating of explosives and several failed attempts to set a friends deck on fire, we got home a wee bit late last night so I was a tad concerned that I would 1.) Wake up late and miss the race or 2.) Be too lazy to get my saggy butt out of bed and go.  Happily, neither was the case.

The race I ran this morning was a freebie called the Parley Pratt Independence run.  There is a neat story behind Mr. Pratt, who was a mormon captured and jailed in Missouri in the 1830’s during a time of religious purging of those not considered traditional christians by the powers that were in charge at the time.  Basically, he and 3 others escaped and ran all the way to Illinois, thus the reason to dedicate the race to him.  Always fun when there is more to a race than a starting line…!

I wanted to run an 8 minute pace today and did that, but not the way I wanted to.  The race started (about 250 runners) down a chute and then immediately dumped us on the trail around the lake which was WAY to narrow to accommodate us all that early.  In fear for my life, I ran with the lead pack until we separated ourselves a bit and then I slowed down (or so I thought).  But the net result of all this was a 7:41 first mile…!  Not good.  My immediate thought was “That’s gonna hurt coming back in…”  And it did.  My last mile was not pretty and I fared only a little better than the 16 year old who blew by me at the finish and then immediately blew breakfast all over the finish chute.  Hey… at least they were providing a pancake breakfast so he could re-fuel.

The race was fun and, except for the first half mile, was an out and back on very familiar turf.  But it was really hot (about 80 at 8am) compared to what I’m used to (I’m spoiled on those cool, early morning runs!) so the last half mile in the sun was not my favorite part, but it was all good.  And I still came close enough to my target time so that I didn’t feel too bad about the race.

Ok… Time for a shower and more explosives!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

