What’s your favorite distance?

Distance: 10K

Time: 50:00

The usual suspects showed up this morning for the 5:30am CMC run.  There was some good natured shaming on me for not showing up last Thursday in a driving rainstorm.  I mumbled something about lack of dedication, which got a chuckle out of the crowd, and then we were off.

This was one of those routes I have been wondering about for a long time.  It is a true 10K that starts off flat on the trail and then turns onto a road and climbs for about a half mile.  From there it rolls for a couple of miles and then ends on a big downhill.  The hill looked intimidating but after running it, I would say it wasn’t nearly as bad as it looked.  All in all it was a great route, even though it was on some heavily traveled roads (another plus for running early… no traffic!).  I loved the looks on the bleary eyed drivers as they tried to figure out what the heck we were running from so early in the morning…!

I felt surprisingly good after my 14 miler on Sunday.  A little stiff at the start, but I loosened up quick and hit my stride and ended up averaging 8 minute miles.  I’ll take that any day!

One thing I am noticing is that the longer distances are really helping during the last two miles or so of these shorter runs.  I basically just hung with the pack for the first 4 miles and then watched as people started to slowly fade in the last two miles.  I, however, felt stronger as the run went along.  ok… so maybe there IS a side benefit to all that long run pain… heh!

I was talking with one of my usual running partners about favorite distances.  She is running her first marathon at the end of September.  We both agreed that, although what we are doing (all the training) is fun, marathons may just not be for us.  We agreed that we were both going to complete our marathons but after that we were probably not going to do another one any time soon.  I, personally, love the 10K distance.  It is a perfect distance for me because I don’t really feel warmed up and loose until after the first 2 or 3 miles.  By then a 5K is over!  When I run 5K’s I feel like I need to get there early and run a 5K first, then run my 5K!  I know that sounds weird but I find that I run much better 5K times when I do this.  But with a 10K, I hit my stride and still have a good bit of the race to go.  When I’m done I feel spent but not exhausted.  I think my second favorite distance is half marathon.  This is Kathy’s (my running buddy) favorite distance and we both agree that half marathons really give you plenty of time to focus and get into the run, without the other “half” of the marathon distance to beat you to death.

I’m running a 4 mile freebie fun run tomorrow morning, the usual run on Thursday and then it’s off to St. Louis for the Joker’s Wild Half Marathon on Saturday!  WOOT!  It should be a fun race and I found out yesterday that the owner of my favorite running store here in town is going to be the 9 minute group pacer (my goal pace), so I will know at least one person at the run.

3 Responses to What’s your favorite distance?

  1. “We agreed that we were both going to complete our marathons but after that we were probably not going to do another one any time soon.”

    Let me know how that goes for you. 😉

  2. dabigleap says:

    LOL! Yeah… I know… I think I originally said I would “never” run another marathon… but here I am… In the battle of will power, I can’t even win against me…!

  3. I had to laugh at a friend of mine who did her first half-marathon last fall. I’d originally planned to run the Route 66 Marathon in Tulsa, but for a variety of reasons — the main one being my friend’s need for moral support — I decided to drop back and walk/run the half with her. She started fading on me around mile 8, and I more or less talked her through the last four miles. She spent the last two miles snarling about how she was never going to do this again. I laughed at her every time she said it.

    About four hours after the race, I got an e-mail from her, apologizing for being cranky the last few miles and thanking me for sticking with her. Predictably, after eating lunch and taking a nap, she was feeling better and was trying to figure out which half-marathon to tackle next….

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

