Soggy Bob

Distance: 3 mi

Time: Speed work

A spectacular thunderstorm blew through our track workout this evening and had the adverse effect of cutting the workout short, but man!  What a show…  There was a small shower in the area when I got to the track, but I knew from looking at the radar that the big Magilla was coming.  I quietly urged everyone to get a move on, but to no avail.  Everybody wanted to chat, so we started about 15 minutes late.  Man did we need that 15 minutes.  We ran a 3,2,1 set where you run 3 minutes at your 5k pace, rest for a minute and then run the reverse direction and try to nail the same time back, rest for two, then run for two, then back… you get the picture.  We were going to run some 800m relays but a huge and ominous gust front let us know we weren’t doing any of that.  When we started the temperature was 90 degrees.  In about 5 minutes that had dropped to 72 degrees and it was raining so hard you couldn’t see the other side of the track.  But I could see that the sprinklers were on… heh!  Anyway, I ran an 800m cool down in a driving rain and was anticipating hail so I basically ran from cover to cover twice around the track.  No hail though.  Just soggy Bob… VERY soggy…

I do like these workouts though because they make me think and focus on things that I normally wouldn’t, such as form.  That and they are a good break from the rigors of long miles.  I did kinda tweak my quad though, so I’m off to stretch and rub a bit of “the precious” on it… which, for the uninitiated is a wonderful homebrewed concoction that my wife makes that is fantastic for sore muscles.  I don’t even wanna KNOW what’s in it… I just know it works so I’m good with it.  Hopefully it will be OK to run on tomorrow morning, provided the deluge has stopped by then (it’s supposed to pour all night… SQUISHY!).  Note to self: Wear OLD shoes tomorrow…

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

