A run other than just a run

Distance: 5 mi

Time: 42:49

Did the 5:30am run this morning with CMC.  This was one of the first “runs” I have been on since I started running again almost 1 1/2 years ago where I was actually supposed to DO something.  Oh sure, I have tried to go at a certain pace or do fartleks or intervals, etc. but mostly I just run.  Today’s run was called a “tempo” run.  The purpose was to set a pace that you could gradually increase as you went.  Because I was a bit sore from the track workout the night before, I decided to start at 9 minute pace, then go to 8:30 and then finish at 8 minute miles.  It was tough…  I even got that odd, “I think I might just puke” feeling for a minute or two from the effort.  I haven’t had that feeling since wind sprints in high school baseball…!

The one thing I can say about all this is that the group definitely challenges me.  No, they don’t push me or yell encouragement or run next to me spouting inspiration.  They just run.  But because I am there and because the group makes the effort to organize this, I feel obligated to push myself and give it my best.  I can already tell it is helping.  Not so much on the trail as it is when I go up a flight of stairs or need to jump off the bed of the truck.  My legs feel stronger.  My knees, although still crunchy going up stairs, are not as bad.  I feel like I can jump again.  Not that I really need to, but I “feel” like I can.  This is a change from the way I used to feel.  I was afraid to jump because I wasn’t sure my legs would catch me on the way down.  I know the benefits of cross training, but I just got too focused on putting in the miles.  While this is necessary as well, I think these other types of running are very helpful and, from the way I feel (if a bit sore from the effort), will be the way I train from now on.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

