I have found my people…

Distance: 8 Mi

Time: 1:05.23 (WOW!! 8:10 miles for 8 miles?  SWEET!!!)

I have said all along that I would eventually have to switch my running schedule to mornings when the weather got hot.  I have been running in around 90 degree heat and, although tolerable, it’s not real pleasant.  I was reading an article in the paper about a local club that does Tuesday/Thursday group runs at 5:30am on one of the local trails.  How popular are they?  This last Tuesday, they had over 130 runners.  This is NOT an organized race.  Just a group run.  How cool is that?

So I decided to join them this morning 1.) to see what they were about and 2.) to see if I could do it…

MAN THAT WAS FUN!!

I got to the trailhead at about 5:15 and there was nobody there…  Uh oh…  Did I go to the right trailhead?  Just after I turned off the truck and got out, a car pulled in.  Then another, then a bunch more.  By the time we took off, there were over 90 runners, 10 dogs, 4 strollers, etc.  The group is mostly VERY fit triathletes, but there are some “just” runners in there too.  I was a bit worried about getting dropped out of the parking lot, but decided to go anyway.

There were 3 routes in short (5 miles), medium (6.5 miles) and long (8 miles) distances to accommodate skill levels and time constraints.  I didn’t really know which one I would be in so I just took off and decided to pick one as I got closer.  The group started out together at about an 8:30 pace and then slowly picked it up.  I felt surprisingly good and the people were very nice, so I decided to go long since the group I was running with was doing that and it fit into my plan.  I ran most of the distance with another first time marathoner named Kathy and we seemed to be at about the same skill level so we ran the distance together.  Of course, because we stuck to our pace (albeit really fast for both of us) and the other long runners picked it up, we ended up being some of the last ones in (most people turned around at the first turn) but we had big grins on our faces because we had a great run and really enjoyed ourselves.  That was awesome…

…can’t wait til Tuesday!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

