Disaster Recovery

Distance: 4 Mi

Time: 38:51

Today was my first run since the disaster on Friday. I still hurt and was cramping a bit, so I decided to try to run under complete control. I really tried to focus on form, breathing and pace. Since I was sore I decided to run the first 3 miles at 10:00 pace and then let it hang out a bit on the last one to see if I could blow some of the junk out of my system. I nailed the three mile mark in 30:01. The last mile I just aired it out. I lengthened my stride, used my arms a bit more and tried to get my heart rate and breathing up a bit. With minimal extra effort I managed 8:50 for the last mile. I’m fine with that.

I was pretty down over the weekend. I hurt, I was frustrated and felt very fatigued and tired. I needed to feel like I had some control again. My body kind of took it away from me Friday and let me know who was really boss. I guess I wasn’t ready for that. Another part of marathon training nobody tells you about… 😉

Thanks for the public and private suggestions and words of encouragement. I will take them all to heart. I am going to back down on my long runs. I just don’t think my body, in it’s present condition, can handle 2 runs over 20 miles per month. Maybe when I lose that last pound and hit my target weight I can start thinking about hitting those kinds of numbers. For now, once a month is enough. I will still be able to run 26 miles once before the marathon and that’s all I was going to do anyway. I am also going to start looking for some hills to run and see if any of the local tracks are open to the public. Maybe some ugly hills and sprint work will give me a new appreciation for those long slow days…!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

