Shouldn’ta Oughta Did It…

Distance: 18 mi

Time: 3:23.46

Ya know… There are just some things you KNOW are wrong when you do them, but you do it anyway.  Most of the time the worst you can get is a boo boo, but sometimes it is much worse.

I decided yesterday that I would try to get off a bit early and get my long run in a couple of days in advance since I am going to be gone most of the weekend.  Today I was out most of the day volunteering at the Senior State Games Track and Field Competition and tomorrow I am off to war (for the day) in Kansas City.

But… something didn’t feel right.  I was kinda achy all day and had worked pretty hard the day before lifting lumber until nearly 9pm.  I thought maybe a nice big pasta lunch would fuel me, but no luck.  Even as I started out the run, I had my doubts.  I am usually either optimistic or at least neutral about every run.  It’s rare that I am ever doubtful about the outcome of a run.  This day, however, I knew was going to end up badly.  But I went anyway.

Actually, after I shook off the cobwebs and stiffness, the first 3 miles were not bad at all.  Just a nice casual stroll at a leisurely pace.  Then my stomach gurgled “THAT” gurgle and I sprinted the last half mile to the closest bathroom.  Not good…

But, I pressed on.  Once my tummy cleared, miles 4 – 10 were fine.  I was drinking well, had taken 2 Hammer Gel packets and was feeling at least marginally positive.  Then around mile 11, I started to get these odd pains in my legs.  Nondescript, and in different spots mostly, but very uncomfortable.  There were even a couple of times where they would hit and my legs would go weak and I would stumble, then just as quickly they would go away.  Unfortuately at about mile 15, they moved in to stay.

I have always said that I would do anything rather than walk.  That was challenged today.  And I lost…  The upper half of my body felt like I wasn’t even working.  Just a light sweat, not breathing hard, no problem.  But everything from my waste down was on fire.  I walked about half of the last 3 miles.  I ran out of water and had to stop and refill.  I got dizzy and lightheaded.  My knees burned and ached.  My back hurt.  I think I found my wall…

2 Responses to Shouldn’ta Oughta Did It…

  1. Don’t let this hurt you too badly. We all have tough runs and every once in awhile, you just won’t win one of these battles. That’s OK. The run is behind you and you’ll actually be stronger for living through it.

    On the training side of things, it sounds to me that you went into the run dehydrated and probably ran out of both fuel and water along the way. In one of your other posts, you talk about things giving out about mile 14 – and it sounds to me like you need to eat more during your runs. Try increasing (maybe doubling) the amount of calories that you’re taking in on your runs and drinking more. And you may need to up the amount of carbohydrate in your diet on a daily basis as well. You may have to experiment with other foods than gels to get these calories in. I’m a big fan of the PB&J sandwich and salt foods like potato chips.

    Don’t despair – you’ll get through these challenges. Keep at it.

    Coach Joe
    http://coachjoeenglish.wordpress.com

  2. Definitely creamy! 🙂

    Coach Joe

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

