A note for you SCA types, then some other stuff

My other blog (whaddya mean life?  I ain’t got a life! … bet you don’t know what song that is from…) is a combination of woodworking and, increasingly, SCA posts and entries.  If even READING about running terrifies you or makes you want to eat Bon Bon’s in protest, but you know I’m in the SCA, and that’s what you are interested in, the other site has less mundane info in it.

I seem to be back in the same weight rut I fall into from time to time.  It’s like I save up my weight loss and then do it all at once.  Whatever… As long as it keeps going down, I guess I’ll have to be OK with it.  One would think, though, that consistently running 30+ miles a week would have SOME consistent positive impact…

Today is a day off so I will fill it with loading my truck up with about 700 board feet of lumber and then heading over to a friend’s house to make armor… I will let that hang and you can draw your own conclusions…

I have not been stretching as much as I should be and it is starting to show.  Yesterday during my run my foot started to fall asleep and my glute/hamstring area got real tight.  I enjoy my stretching and don’t really know why I stopped.  I think I just got a bit lazy.  But now is not the time for it.  I’ve got 5 months so I need to refocus and work hard on 3 things.  Stretching, hill work and eating right.  These are my weaknesses right now.  Putting in the miles is not a problem.  My lungs feel great.  My body responds well to the extra miles and recovers quickly.  I just need to stretch (easy), run hills (hate it) and eat right (always the most difficult thing for me).

Not that I’m going to fall apart and just drop everything the day after I’m done with the race in October, but marathon training doesn’t allow for many mistakes.  If you don’t do something like stretching consistently, your body lets you hear about it around mile 12.  If you eat wrong… well… I don’t even want to think about the consequences of that at mile 12…  or any other mile for that matter…  I guess I’ve kind of gotten complacent in this “douldrum” period where the race seems a long way off.  But with the turn of the calendar page tomorrow, I’m down to about 4 1/2 months and I still have a LONG way to go in my training before I will feel even remotely up to the challenge.  Most people usually START their marathon training about now, but I have had a long climb to get to this point and it’s time to reload for the stretch run.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

