Looking back for motivation

In some of my ponderings and reminiscings while wallowing in my self pity pool last week, I came upon a memory that at first worried me and then reset my resolve a bit.

I had kind of been concerned about losing fitness because I didn’t know how long I was going to be off  while the eggplant at the end of my foot healed.  To set this up a bit, one of my other hobbies is midieval re-inactment with a group called the SCA.  I was at an event with my previous group about 4 months before I moved to Columbia.  We were setting up for the event and I was carrying a 30 pound bale of rope used to mark off the area we fight in (yes, I put on armor and hit my friends with sticks… it’s great!).  As I was walking around unrolling this rope, I realized that I was becoming very winded and there was this odd noise coming from my lungs that was quite similar to a dog’s squeaky toy when I exhaled.  To the point that the guy helping me laughed at first but then stopped and said “Whoa…  Are you OK?”  because he said I was red faced and looked like I was about to pass out.

Even though I didn’t realize it at the time, this was a defining moment for me.  That memory stuck with me, and even though I can’t point to it as THE reason I finally committed to losing weight and getting back in shape, it certainly was a silent motivator.

The reason this all came back up was that I was laying on the couch with my eggplant elevated because I had just come back from an SCA event here in Columbia.  I was thinking about the day when a random memory came to me of helping a couple of people carry a big picnic table to another area.  It was big enough that it took 4 of us to carry and we were moving it about 75 yards.  Once we got it where it was supposed to go, all three of the other guys immediately sat down on it, breathing hard and with that same “squeaky toy” exhale.  I, on the other hand, immediately went over and picked up a case of water to move to another area, not even the slightest bit tired.  They all glared at me as I wandered off, and this look was not lost on me.  I knew how they felt because I was there once.  And even though I feel great now, I will never forget that feeling.  It was very uncomfortable and more than a bit embarrassing for me at the time.

I guess I look for motivation where I can find it.  I know that what I am doing is helping me, but sometimes I take where I am for granted.  This just reminded me of where I was and how easy it could be for me to be there still.  Yes, it is hard to lose weight and get in shape.  No, it hasn’t come as easy as I had hoped.  Yes, I still have a long way to go.  But… Little memories like this just serve to mark my progress and push me along down the road another mile or two.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

