Old demons

Well I can at least walk semi normally today, for the first time since the “Great Toe Massacre”.  I would love to say that this means I will be running again soon, but I’m just not sure.  It may take a week or so more to heal, so in the meantime I get to fight a personal battle with food.  Whenever I get depressed or stressed, I eat.  I don’t care what or how much.  I find that since I am very upset about this little setback, I am starting to lean towards food again as a crutch to make me feel better.  It’s an old and very bad habit that is terribly difficult to break.  Although I have been much better than in years past, I still find myself desiring things that I haven’t wanted to eat in a very long time, like beer, candy and fast food.  For the first time in a VERY long time yesterday, I was driving by Burger King and my stomach didn’t turn when I smelled it.  In fact, my mouth watered.  It’s a real trip to me how much of a psychological thing eating is… at least for me.  But it’s also shameful and frustrating for me to not be able to fight this as well as I want to…  Which, in turn, makes me want to eat…  It’s an ugly cycle.

One Response to Old demons

  1. blb says:

    HELLO,

    I just wanted to say I struggle with the same thing. I have had two ankle injuries. One each of the last two years. I had to take anywhere from 3 months to 6 months off. So I sympathize. Is there anything you can do like bike or swim to substitute? Stay strong, that to shall pass.

    later.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

